Got milk?

I do. Apparently far too much of it.

For the last week or so, my milk has been making a very unwelcome appearance through my clothes. One of the many post-pregnancy body changes that nobody told me about… This has happened almost everyday. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I have plenty of milk to feed my baby, but not so much that it tries to escape whenever it feels like it.

The main problem is that I can’t feel it happening, so by the time I’m aware it’s far too late. It even happened in Costa the other day – luckily I was with a friend kind enough to lend me her scarf to cover it up until I went home! So far that’s the only public mishap I’ve had, but it’s only getting worse so I’m sure there’s time to change that ;)

My milk trying to make a run for it!

As you can see above, it’s quite obvious. There is absolutely no way I can hide that! Oh well, I can laugh at myself at least?!

I also experienced ‘squirting’ for the first time the other morning. I didn’t even notice it to start with. Just before I was about to feed my poor poor baby, I looked down and saw that it was squirting him in the face! I couldn’t stop it, I had no pad or anything other than my hand to stop it going all over his gorgeous little face. In the end I had to try and gather it in my hand, hopeful it would stop – like that happened! Luckily it didn’t take long before my baby decided to feed, so I was saved. My bedsheets however, were not.

I think my next few days will be sent trying out new pads, something that can handle my runaway milk!

If anyone reading this has used any breast pads that have worked wonders, or ones to avoid, please share :)

*Please note – I know that many women are unable to breastfeed for various reasons, including not making enough milk. Please don’t take offence to my moaning, I understand that I am incredibly lucky to be able to breastfeed.

One thought on “Got milk?

Leave a Reply

