One month today!

It’s the 7th October and I’m in utter shock that my little Dominic is already 1 month old. Where the hell did the time go?! I’ve always been told that time disappears once you have kids, which of course I always thought, “yeah, sure…”, but I didn’t realise just how true that was. As it’s now the 1 month mark, I thought I’d give a little update on things.

An update on Dominic:

The last few days I feel as though he’s suddenly grown. He was 7lb 13oz at birth, and as of yesterday weighed a whopping 10lb 2oz. He’s growing into a right little chunk!

Dominic is progressing nicely. He’s started to follow objects as they go by (providing they’re close to his face), he’s started to lift hid head up briefly (before it quickly flops down, bless him) and is responding to sounds. This all probably sounds very boring, but it’s so fascinating to watch him changing. I’m so excited to watch him as he learns new things, and starts to walk and talk, but at the same time I’m terrified of him growing!

I currently have a major case of ‘First Time Mum Syndrome’. I’m a bloody pain in the arse. Every single change I spot I’m straight onto Dr Google to find out what’s wrong, and each time end up in a complete state of panic as it’s telling me something is drastically wrong! I’m trying ever so hard to stay away from it. Stay away and stay calm. Easier said than done, but I hope to overcome my addiction soon, for the sake of both my sanity and my husbands.

An update on me:

I still don’t feel as though I’ve recovered physically – or that could just be the sleep deprivation. It’s hard to tell. I remember thinking during labour that I couldn’t wait for it to end so I could have some sleep (after being awake for 3 days with contractions) – HA! I’ve no idea when I thought I’d be getting all this sleep. Not that I don’t love it, it’s truly been the most wonderful month of my life, but that doesn’t mean I’m not suffering from lack of sleep. I’ve been told I shouldn’t expect to feel ‘normal’ until 6 weeks, so for now, I’m putting it down to not having healed fully yet. I’ll revisit that thought in 2 weeks time though!

Still suffering from the jelly belly – although I’m starting to think that will never go… one can be hopeful though! I’m applying plenty of Palmer’s Cocoa Butter to try and help – much nicer than Bio Oil, if you ask me. Plus it smells delicious! Despite the jelly belly skin, my actual tummy does seem to have shrunk down quite a fair bit, not sure how much longer that ‘shrinkage’ will continue though, it seems to have stopped now… One thing that hasn’t shrunk (quite the opposite!) are my boobs. I woke up on day 3 PP to quite the surprise. It was like a plastic surgeon has stopped by over night and given me a surprise boob job. There are both pros and cons to this. Pros – it’s nice to feel like an adult! Cons – they hurt, they look like road maps, and I can no longer go bra-less for fear I will leak everywhere!

Other than that, I can’t really think of anything else to report… for now at least. I’ll be back soon :)

 

Leave a Reply

