The hospital bag

In the last 2 months of pregnancy, it’s time to get the hospital bag packed. After all, baby could come at any time. Some people say that packing too early will jinx you, and will make baby come late – and if that’s true, oh well, everyone loves a chunky baby! And you can never be too prepared, right? I couldn’t even speak during my contractions, let alone faff about packing a hospital bag.

I started with a list, that way I wouldn’t accidentally forget anything when it came to it. But what to pack? If you ask my good friend, Google, “what to pack in my hospital bag” you’ll be inundated with lists upon lists as long as your arm, with ‘essentials’ that you’ll need for your hospital bag.

I remember going shopping with my Nan and Aunty for the remaining bits on my list, and my list was long. I blindly followed these online guides to a T, without once questioning them. I was asked what I needed some of the items for, and I genuinely had no idea. I couldn’t answer. I’d just copied everything down that I saw – I mean, the internet’s always right, isn’t it? I still don’t know what a ‘baby flannel’ is, but I was convinced I needed one.

When it came down to it, there was very little I actually used. I didn’t have hours upon hours to spend chatting, doing puzzles (yes, I’m a massive puzzle nerd) or snacking to keep me occupied. From my list (I won’t bore you with the actual one), I must have only used:

For me:

  • Change of clothes
  • PJ’s
  • Bikini (I attempted a water birth)
  • Lots of big granny pants
  • A nursing bra
  • Maternity pads
  • Shampoo & body wash
  • List of people to call (after you’ve pushed a baby out, there’s a good chance you’ll forget someone important)
  • Lucozade sports drinks (with straw of course, gotta stay classy)

For baby:

  • 2 x baby grows
  • 2 x vests
  • A blanket
  • A hat
  • 2 x muslin cloths
  • Many nappies (although we only used maybe 4 or 5)
  • Cotton wool for changing nappies (you can use wet wipes, but be prepared for frowning midwives…)
Hospital Bag

This was actually our second, smaller bag. The main one was about twice the size. See what I mean?

It may still seem like quite a lot, but this is about a third of what we actually packed. The reason I’m posting this is mainly an FYI for any pregnant women reading this, you might feel more comfortable packing more which is fine, but trust me, you won’t need it. A lot of things like towels will be provided by the hospital/birth centre, and if you’re bottle feeding most will provide you with formula. Hell, they tried to feed me mid pushing, so they definitely won’t let your baby go without.

Maybe I’m wrong, maybe other parents used the entirety of their ginormous  bags, or found other things that I haven’t mentioned, essential. If so, please do feel free to comment, you never know, it could help someone who’s starting to think about packing their bag :)

Leave a Reply

