2 month old baby

Yesterday Dominic was 2 months old. 2 months?! How the hell did that happen. I remember when he was just 5 weeks and thinking, “Jesus, he’s getting old!!”. This month has been an exciting one, he is changing so fast.

Baby:

This month he’s become much more smiley. He’ll still smile when he has gas, but the majority of his smiles are real now. He’s definitely a morning baby, as he tends to wake up smiling and cooing now. Sometimes in the middle of the night too – the temptation to start playing with him is unreal, but I stay strong and stay quiet. It’s bed time after all, and if I need anything, it’s sleep! With the shrieks and coos that accompany these smiles, I’m convinced his first laugh is just around the corner.

He’s also started getting much stronger neck muscles – something I’d been very worried about previously. His head is quite big, so I thought he’d really struggle, but the little mite is getting ever so good at it. He can be a bit of a bobble head at times though, and overcompensates for his ‘back heavy’ head, and DONK! (that’s the sound I imagine in my head when it flops down).

Each Peach Pear Plum

Each Peach Pear Plum

Books are popular this month too. Namely, Each Peach Pear Plum. I’m not sure what it is, but he gets himself in a right little frenzy over it. I love that the books I read as a child are still around. I’ve also tried a picture book, which is made of cloth filled with fuzzy things that make sounds when you touch it. The only problem I have, is it has no words in it, so it’s up to me to make up the story. The main three pages feature a cow, pig and sheep. Last time I read it to him I got lost on what to say, and ended telling Dominic how Mummy and Daddy like to eat the bacon… Whoops!

I’m also considering purchasing the Snuzpod. We currently have a standard moses basket, which is all well and good, but he’s starting to outgrow it. Despite what my husband says, I am adamant he will be staying in our room until he’s 6 months old. I’ve heard that the Snuzpod is a little bigger, which means he could potentially stay in it until 6 months. I also like that you can take down the side, and co-sleep (sort of) with your baby. I’m not brave enough to do it properly, but this is a good compromise. I had the chance to sleep that way in the birth centre, and it was lovely. I also love the design of the Snuzpod! The only catch is it’s about £200. So, if anyone reading this has used it, or knows anyone who has, please do let me know what you think.

Me:

Still sporting the jelly belly, although (ever so slightly) smaller than last month. I’ll take every inch (or more realistically, a mm) as a win. I’ve started on daily green smoothies in effort to get healthier – which I’m awful at, by the way. Not in that I won’t drink it, but that I’m awful at pairing fruit together to make it taste nice. They all taste disgusting. I tend to go by colours. If the colours look similar, surely they taste good together? Nope. They do not.

I’m also contemplating starting running. My logic to this is to eventually give me more energy, and to feel a little better in myself. But the likeliness of this happening is fairly remote. Especially when it’s such fight to walk to the shops (which is just 5 minutes down the road). I’ll get there… eventually.

Other than that, I feel pretty good in myself. Life is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

