It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Did you sing the title as you read it too? I’ve now gone and got it stuck in my head. Over and over and over – as that’s the only part of the song I know!

Anyway. Christmas. That’s what I want to talk about. My favourite time of the year. Despite the cold. I hate the cold.

Christmas tree.JPG

Oh Christmas tree, oh Christmas treeeeeee.

Each year the Christmas decorations come out earlier and earlier in the shops, and everyone complains. Though I might groan about it, “It’s only September?!?!!”, but inside it gets me ever so excited. I mention this in the first blog I wrote, and I still stand by it. The earlier they come out, the earlier you can start getting excited. And who doesn’t love getting excited?

It’s also a nice prompt to start Christmas shopping. If you’re anything like me, every year I plan to start shopping early/mid November, and every year I fail. I always end up panic buying mid December and then spending way more than I’d planned. This year I’ve been much better (most likely because I’m not working), and have bought a lot already. Black Friday was largely to thank for that. Good ol’ American traditions!

I most definitely won’t be attempting the shops again this year either. At least places with multiple levels. I’d never realised how frustrating it would be having to wait for a lift every time I needed to go to another shop (because sods law, it’s never on the same floor you’re on). One thing I did love about West Quay (namely, John Lewis) is their breast feeding facilities. They have a really big room with about 3 or 4 changing mats, a large toilet area, and a bit at the back to feed your baby! Definitely easier than trying to do it on the sly in a restaurant or coffee shop.

I was also massively impressed by Halifax. We were in the bank when Dominic decided he wanted to scream, and scream, and scream… A lady heard me saying that he needed a feed, so she set up a private room for me  to go and feed him (without me asking, I might add). It’s kindness like that, that really makes a difference. I imagine some places may have asked me to leave for making a scene, but they really made me feel at ease.

Anyway, I digress.

This Christmas will be our first Christmas as a family of 3. My husband isn’t overly into Christmas, which causes quite the clash in our house as I go Christmas MAD. I have also noticed that over the years, the magic has started to disappear, now that I know that – close your eyes kids! – Father Christmas isn’t real.  But now I have Dominic, I really feel the Christmas cheer again. This year is just the start though, as I know he has no idea what’s going on. But next year… next year will be amazing! Christmas will not know what’s hit it.

Yankee advent

Grown up’s are allowed Advent calendars too, right?

I’m quite keen to do the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ thing that everyone’s got goin’ on.  I’d only actually heard about this recently, but it seems like so much fun. Dominic’s a bit too young for me to do it this year (although I’m tempted to do it anyway…), but I can’t wait until he understands that sort of thing. I’ll fill the house with elves! I’ll be the crazy lady on the street, with a house full of elves. Forget cats, it’s all about the elves.

I feel I may have gotten a little bit too excited.

I have a year (or 2?) to calm myself.

I would be really interested to see pictures of these, if any readers are doing, or have done the Elf on the Shelf.

I better go now, I have Christmas shopping to do. Online, of course. Ain’t nobody got time for elevators.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s the most wonderful time of the year

  1. contented82 says:

    So great to hear positive breast feeding stories. I know this post is about Christmas but when you have a nursing baby it impacts on every part of daily life. Lots of negative stories out there but most of the time bf mamas are treated with respect. Nice post happy Christmas xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

