5 month update

5monthupdateAlmost half a year. That means only 7 months until I go back to work, and leave Dominic. 7 months is a long time, but when I’ve already been off for about 6 months, it seems like nothing. At the moment I’m really dreading it. Not because work is awful, but because I’ve become so accustomed to being with my son at home.

As always, Dominic is changing so much. Much more than when he was younger (I say that as if he’s actually old…). Right now I feel like if I blink, I’ll miss something huge.

Here we go.

Baby

Last month I mentioned that I was trying to wean him off the boob, and onto breast milk in bottles. The aim of this was to allow me to leave the house for longer than 2 hours without worrying that he was screaming the house down, trying to avoid the bottle. Anyway, a month later and we’ve improved significantly. He’ll now finish a bottle with no tears. Well, last week he did. We haven’t had a chance to try since as I’ve been too tired (ahem, lazy) to pump any milk.

Now that we’ve reached this goal, I’m happy just occasionally feeding him with the bottle. I figured that there’s only a month left until we start weaning him onto solids, so he’ll need milk less and less as time goes on. And I love feeding him myself – it’s just a bonus if he’ll take the bottle while I’m out!

Growth wise, Dom seems to have had another growth spurt. Months ago this would have upset me, I was desperately holding onto his tiny baby self. But now I feel so differently, him growing excites me. And, it means I have a whole new wardrobe of baby clothes, now that he fits into the larger sizes we got when he was born. I just need to figure out what to do with his mountain of newborn and 0-3 month clothes. I’d quite like to have a quilt or teddy bear made out from them!

We’ve been trying to encourage him to hold himself up with his arms during tummy time this month. But so far, it’s not going so well. The poor thing swings his arms back in a swan like position – he looks like a banana. No matter how many times I bring them forward, they instantly swing back again. Bless him, he’s obviously a swan at heart.

We are still in the same position as we were a month ago (possibly even worse) with sleeping. Our little man just doesn’t want to sleep. We’ve been trying all sorts, and will continue to do so. But that’s for another post. We’ll get there :)

Me

Kind of running out of updates for me… nothing new to say! How boring.

I think 5 months on, it’s time to remove this section from the monthly post ;)

That’s all for this month!  
 

 

Leave a Reply

