The Liebster Award

Liebster-Award-Large

Raising my mini me was recently nominated for the Liebster award, by Frank from I’m not Grandpa – thank you very much, Frank! Please do take a few minutes to check out his blog. I’m delighted to accept, and pass on the award to my well deserved, fellow bloggers.

The Liebster Award is an award passed from blogger to blogger, in order to support, promote and encourage other bloggers on the interweb.

Raising my mini me started just 5 months ago, and follows my son and I, as I get to grips with parenthood as a first time mum. The support I’ve received from other bloggers, friends and readers has been immense. So thank you, to you all!


Now, there are a few rules that accompany this award. See below:

1 – Thank the person/blog who nominated you and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2 – Display the award on your blog. This can be done by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a widget (note: the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer)

3 – Answer the 10 questions about yourself that your nominating blogger chooses for you.

4 – Nominate 10 blogs that you feel deserve the award. These must be new bloggers (less than two years blogging) who have fewer than 1000 followers.

5 – Create a list of questions for your nominated bloggers to answer.

6 – List these rules in your post (feel free to cut & paste!)

7 – Inform the blogs that you nominated that they have been awarded the award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.


Here are my questions, and answers:

1.) What inspired you to start your blog?

I used to blog when I was at uni – I really enjoyed it but kept it private, I wasn’t brave enough to let anyone see. So, nobody ever knew about it! But when I got to the end of my pregnancy I thought it would be a lovely way to document my son and I’s journey, which again was private to start with, until I got the guts to go and share my posts! Hopefully he’ll enjoy reading it when he’s older …

2.) What blogging goal are you currently striving for?

To be honest, I don’t really have any blogging goals. I just enjoy writing, and it gives me a bit of ‘me time’.

3.) What activities to you enjoy outside of blogging?

I’m a bit of a nerd, and love a bit of crafting. Not that I’ve had time since having baby D. I love a good movie and a book (I know, how boring?!), I’m very much a girl of simple pleasures.

4.) What tactics do you employ on those days when blogging is hard & frustrating?

I only really write when I really feel like writing. If I have a case of writers block, then I generally tend to not write. I love reading other blogs though, which almost always give me inspiration to start writing something new.

5.) If you could have lunch with any famous person, who would you choose?

Leonardo Dicaprio, the love of my life since 1997 (Titanic, of course).

6.) What are your three favorite blogs to follow?

Surviving Motherhood

My Least Favourite Child Today

Hannah Gale

7.) What piece of blogging advice have you found to be most helpful?

Write for yourself, and don’t worry about what others think. There have been numerous times where I’ve been worried about what others would think of my post before I hit the  dreaded publish button. But then I remember that this blog is for myself – it’s a bonus if other people enjoy it.

8.) Are you a full-time blogger or do you also hold down a day job?

I do have a day job, I just haven’t been there for a few months (maternity leave), but when I go back I will remain a part-time blogger.

9.) What is your favorite post on your blog thus far?

Oh god… ummm… I’m torn. Can I have 2?

I would say my Birth Story post. Purely because I love reminiscing about when my little boy arrived.

I also like my post about Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness. It’s quite a sad post, but it’s really meaningful to me, and I had a number of people contact me to tell me that reading the post had helped them – nothing beats that.

I usually prefer funnier posts, but the above are much closer to my heart.

10.) What social media platforms do you use and which one is most effective for you?

I mainly use Facebook and Twitter, but I sometimes (rarely) Pinterest and Instagram when I really like the photo’s on the post. Facebook is most definitely my most effective platform though.


 

I have chosen the below 10 bloggers to nominate for the Liebster Award:

The Contented Family

Soul Shape Fitness

The Flex Routine

Parenting in Pyjamas

Coffee and a Cardigan

Mummy Boo Boo

SarahFace – The Bittersweet Breakfast Blog

Away on Vacay

Mum is the Word Blog

Travel Fairytale


 

Now, the questions for the nominated bloggers above :)

1.) What inspired you to start your blog?

2.) What blogging goal are you currently striving for?

3.) What activities to you enjoy outside of blogging?

4.) What tactics do you employ on those days when blogging is hard & frustrating?

5.) If you could have lunch with any famous person, who would you choose?

6.) What are your three favorite blogs to follow?

7.) What piece of blogging advice have you found to be most helpful?

8.) Are you a full-time blogger or do you also hold down a day job?

9.) What is your favorite post on your blog thus far?

10.) What social media platforms do you use and which one is most effective for you?


 

So there you have it, the Liebster Award has been passed forward :)

p.s. Please do visit the nominees pages – they’re all really good!

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

