Review: Gro Anywhere Blind

Winter’s come to an end, and Spring has now sprung. The days are getting longer, and I hope, will soon get warmer. I’m so excited to spend the summer with my boy – I’m hoping not to go back to work until September which means I get the whole of summer with him.

While I usually enjoy the longer days of Summer, it may bring me a few problems this year.

Most of you will know by now that I have great trouble getting my son to sleep, and to stay that way for any length of time. I’ve noticed that during his daytime naps, it’s worse when it’s lighter in his room. Luckily, we have black out blinds fitted in his bedroom which solves the problem. But, when we go out, trying to get Dom to nap or sleep is an absolute nightmare.

Enter, the Gro Anywhere Blind.

gro1

 

I’ve always been a fan of The Gro Company. D won’t sleep without his Grobag, and I won’t sleep without his Gro Egg (I’m absolutely terrified of him overheating). It wasn’t until recently that I found out about the Gro Anywhere Blind.

I was delighted when I received the product -it came in a small portable bag, with the instructions written very simply on the back. No faffing around trying to get rid of a box, and umpteen plastic bags and booklets that I don’t need. I didn’t need to worry about cramming any cardboard into my recycling bin, or reading through pages and pages of instructions before I could try the product.

Not long after receiving the item, we went to stay at a friends house, so thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try it out!

When I first pulled the blind out of the bag, I was surprised at just how much material there was. Understandable, as it needs to fit windows of all shapes and sizes (it’s maximum coverage being 130cm x 198cm). Being little, I did struggle at first, but once I realised how to alter the size it, it was no longer an issue. The blind is pretty much a big black sheet, which has suction cups spaced around all four sides, and (very strong) velcro spaced in-between, to allow you to easily alter its size.

I used the blinds on a fairly small window in comparison to its maximum size, so it required quite a bit of velcroing. Once I’d finished though, it fit perfectly! I was really pleased, it blocked out the sunlight perfectly.

IMG_6122.JPG

It was a particularly sunny day in this photo – it blocked the sun really well!

Once I was finished using it, I was dreading putting it back into the bag. You’ve probably experienced it… Finding something easy to get out, but impossible to put back in. But I was pleasantly surprised, I fit it back in in one go. It was so easy.

The fabric felt of high quality, and would be easy to rub down if any dirt were to get onto it (and let’s face it, is inevitable with little ones around). I love the star and moon pattern on it too!

The bag is also small enough that you can easily pack it into whichever bag you’re travelling with, or, you can just carry it on its own with the bags handle.

The standard price of the Gro Anywhere Blind is £29.99 (but Amazon currently have it on sale, for £19.99!!) Is it worth the cost? If you don’t have blackout blinds, most definitely. If you do, and travel a fair bit, then I would still highly recommend them.

Two thumbs up for the Gro Anywhere Blind!

Leave a Reply

