The Devil Mum: The Sleep Diaries, part 3

Devil mum

Once again, it’s been a long time since I last posted, and a lot has happened.

You may remember from my last post in the Sleep Diaries, that me and my beloved had parted ways. I was at my wits end, and wanted nothing more than his return. Well my friends, it is with great pleasure I can declare that we’ve been reunited once again. And boy, what a beautiful time it’s been.

Who do I have to thank? Well, that’s my not so public relationship with sleep training (until now).

*Waits for judgemental stares……*

Yep. Sleep training.

Almost everyone’s face drops when I tell them. I can instantly see the judgement in their eyes…

“She lets her baby cry? What a she devil!!”

Not everyone realises that sleep training doesn’t mean ‘crying it out’ and leaving your baby to cry all night. There are SO. MANY. METHODS. I place emphasis on this, because as a severely sleep deprived Mum, I wanted nothing more than to scour through pages and pages of information about which methods would make me a ‘good’, but unhappy Mum, or a ‘bad’, but rested Mum. After a lot of research, and I mean ALOT, I decided to try out the ‘pick up put down‘ method.

This lasted all of 45 minutes.

While it may work for other families, picking up D proved too stimulating for him, and just made things 10 times worse. All of that research I’d done to reach this decision, out the window in just a few minutes. Within the following 2 minutes, I changed my mind and decided to go with ‘controlled comforting/crying’.

As I said… Devil mum, I know.

I did alter the method to fit with what I was comfortable with though, which I won’t bore you with the details, but it was a bit ‘gentler’ than what the standard method suggests. Mainly because I felt God awful about doing this method before we actually started it. I scoured through forums, trying to find likeminded women to try and persuade myself that I wasn’t a horrible person, and that I was doing the right thing. This link best describes how we went about it. Good ol’ Jo Frost.

At first I thought I could cheat… I would properly follow the method at bedtime, but when he woke in the night I quickly gave up and started feeding him the second he became unsettled. I also thought getting into his cot with him and feeding him laying down wouldn’t count, as I wasn’t picking him up. Nobody would know, right? Well, nobody other than my baby… you know… the one who I was trying to sleep train. So, yeah… that didn’t work. Day by day his sleeping got worse and worse.

The following weekend, I decided to go all out.

I COULD DO THIS.

Within 2 nights D was sleeping better. Sleeping in 3 hour intervals rather than the 1 hourly wakings I’d grown accustomed to. Sure, I was up with him for a while at each waking, but he was waking less often.

Fast forward a few weeks, and he’s now waking once, maybe twice a night on a typical night. And it really shows – in both of us. D is so much more alert and happier in the day, and I’m actually functioning like a normal human being again.

No longer do I feel the need to call my husband crying because “my baby won’t sleep!!!!!”.

No longer do I spend my days searching the depths of Google, desperately trying to find out how to get him to sleep.

And no longer do I feel like an awful Mum, for sleep training my baby. I can now be the best Mum I can be, because I have the energy to do so.

And we all lived happily after.

The end.

(I hope…)

4 thoughts on “The Devil Mum: The Sleep Diaries, part 3

  1. amandawolfe85 says:

    Hey, good job! Sounds like your making progress:) I just recently sleep trained my lil guy and it went really well, way better than expected. If you want to see what I did you can check it out on my blog funfiercemama.com Well keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    Good job! Great progress! Liv was an awful sleeper, just refused point blank unless in bed with me. Got to about 7months and we had literally had enough, no one was sleeping so we did CIO and have never looked back. She cried for 30 mins first night, 10 the second and from then on she slept through with no crying at all. Of course we have the odd night where she will wake/not want to go to sleep but the difference is outstanding! We are all happy and healthier! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • raisingmyminime says:

      Thanks Sarah – he’s still waking a bit, but even so it feels like a dream to me now! I’m so pleased it worked so well for you, and I bet Liv is much happier as well as you with sufficient sleep! A lot of people don’t realise just how much sleep deprivation affects families! Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

